Upgrading our family PC’s

I’ve written in the past about Recommendations for a Clean PC (2008) and What I installed on my home Windows 7 PC (2009.)  However, there is some fabulous new software available so below are my latest recommendations:

  • Windows 7 – The best balance of stability, speed, and usability.  My favorite feature is the <win> + <arrow> that moves a window to the left or right. 
  • Office 2010 (free trial) – I LOVE the way that Outlook merges all emails in a conversation regardless of
  • Windows Live Essentials (free) – Messenger Social is a great way to keep-up with you friends on a variety of social networks including Facebook and MySpace.  Windows Live Sync is a great upgrade for Live Mesh supporting sync’ing files between PC’s, to my SkyDrive, and allowing remote access.
  • IE (free with Win7), Flock (free) – These are my two favorite browsers.  I use IE for productivity but I also like Flock for social browsing with it’s “People pane.”  I have various accounts on various services and I’ve found the easiest way to manage these is to have a different browser for each account.  My personal favorites are IE and Flock, but they all install rather quickly and it makes knowing what is signed-in as RobDolin vs. TessPhotos is very helpful.
  • TweetDeck (free) – If I’m at a conference and want to follow a few threads of conversation at once, this multi-column social media monitor is a great tool. 

Being an amateur web developer, I also have a few tools I recommend:

  • Expression Web 4 (free trial) – This is my tool of choice for editing HTML as well as viewing XML.  It’s quick, convenient, and has great visual editing and preview features
  • Visual Web Dev 2010 (free) – This is my favorite tool for editing ASP.net / C# files.  Intellisense makes it massively easy to remember function or method names and to not typo variable names. 
  • Fiddler (free) – Kudos to Eric Lawrence for this excellent HTTP traffic watching tool. 

Thanks very much for reading.  I hope you find all of the recommendations to be useful for you.  Take care–
Rob Dolin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Upgrading our family PC’s

  1. Pingback: Favorite Past Posts (2009 and 2010) « Rob Dolin's Blog

Leave a Reply

